Why Pakistan deserved to play Semifinal

In the morning when I turned on my Facebook application it showed me many images showing that how happy we are to see Pakistan losing to Srilanka. I found it very pathetic because of the fact “there is hate”. Why we are hating a team which actually played better than us and made into the semifinals.

We are a cricket crazy nation and hold citizen right of criticizing any cricketer or sports person. This right also gives me authority to say something about T20 world cup happening in Srilanka. Being a passionate fan we are obsessed with our teams. We support them in difficult times err no ‘we don’t support them when they loose’. I will rightly put it as we are obsessed with our teams when it is winning. Also we have favorite players, mine is Sachin and nowadays I trust Virat. However I am not writing it to discuss my personal choices, taste and belief in players. I want to talk about why Pakistan deserved to play semifinals ahead of Team India.

They played well. Be it any sports, there is equal chance of wining for both of the sides and, Pakistan did exactly what was needed to make it to semifinals. Lets forget that we defeated Pakistan few days ago, but lets only talk about super eight match where Pakistan is facing Australia and India needed to beat SA (which we eventually did, but). Pakistan played superb game and defeated Australia with huge margin of runs and that’s what became decisive in the end. We knew our target is to good score and restrict SA inside a margin of 31 runs. I know it is tough but we knew our targets but we didn’t perform good enough to make it.

There is no Luck. I am little superstitious when it comes to play cricket but, I don’t believe in luck in the field. A batsman made century because a catch was dropped has nothing to do with luck, it is clearly related with poor fielding other team did. Many of you said that it was Pakistan’s sheer luck that they made it to the semifinals on the basis of run rate. They played well to maintain that run rate. We also had equal chances but the way we were beaten by Australia was shameful.

We are not a team. Cricket is a team game and, sometimes some players do something to rise above the team efforts and beat opposite team single even-handedly. It happens once in a while and relying totally on that player is absurd. I must say we are not playing as a team, we even played T20 World Cup without a plan. A team who is playing in such a big event should know who are the players are going to play in the game and we clearly didn’t know. I don’t blame Dhoni or any but why the things weren’t decided before the tournament started. Why didn’t we tried five bowlers against Newzealand.

It is dream of fans to sit at home with popcorn and Pepsi and enjoy their team winning game after game but sometimes it doesn’t happen or not happening with Team India these days but I hope things will get back on track. And people please stop hating someone so much that you create images showing off your hate. I know you become devil when someone says bad things about you on your back. It makes you angry. Then why do you give a chance to someone to say something on your back?

Leave a comment